🌱 ivy's garden

why ivysaur?

wow it's my birthday
probably going to write something today,

i have referred to myself as randomivysaur on the Internet, others refer to me as Ivy, Ivysaur, and the ones who actually know me just call me Michael.

but why ivysaur? now sit down, I'll tell you. after this ad from nord on!!1!1!

so back in 2020, i often played on this site called pokemon showdown. it's an online opensouce (yay) pokemon game, where you battle other people with your pokeman. they have an irc channel there, for everyone to talk in. i had watched 'Pokemon Talk' (I don't know how to explain that, try looking it up), and wanted to see just how many people know that show. so I occasionally hit the chat up with 'hi I'm bulbasaur'. then someone would reply there with 'and I'm squirtle'. and all the rest of the guff.

then that one time I did it, some dude PM'ed me, saying 'hi I'm greninja'. now clearly mate didn't get the reference (I'm sure you don't either), and thought I was just role playing. I replied with something, keeping to the whole role playing thing.

and we kept on going for ages. until I changed my username, to Ivysaur, keeping to the role play stuff, being evolved and stuff (I was deep into pokemon that year).

with that, I just sticked with it.

I also alternate between Psyduck and Ivysaur. now, Psyduck is the result of a podcast I've been listening to since the pandemic (really got me through years of boredom) called Welcome to the World of Pokemon. in one of their episodes, they were talking about the duck pokemon, Psyduck. and it pretty much fit my description at the time; short, always gets headaches. pretty accurate description of me. so that's that.

oh, you were expecting something interesting? I was, but I guess it's not here.

#lostinthesauce