🌱 ivy's garden

using free and open source software

foss is great

just the abundance of open source software has me amazed the amount of linux distributions (this isn't complete at all btw), the amount of open source software that drives many things we use today, it's pretty much uncountable.

foss starts as a small unstable piece of software, like most software is. but unlike proprietary software, it's being grown by the community instead of just one individual or a big company. so if the maintainer goes away for some reason, someone could fork it and pick up where they left off. with proprietary software, it just dies. that's what I love about open source; if it's crap, fork it.

I started using and caring about open source this March. windows broke so I decided to hop on the Linux train. I picked Kubuntu (very very very nice distro), and it was a great first experience. I tinkered around with Plasma, and learned a bit about the whole thing about foss. so since then, I've tried to completely move to all foss. my laptop's OS is foss (fedora linux), my android apps are all foss, even this blogging platform is foss (bear blog is very nice). my home planet is also foss.

so point is, use foss. or perish.

#lostinthesauce