🌱 ivy's garden

proton

i'm adding a new email address to my belt. this time, an @proton.me address.

proton, if you didn't know (you probably do), is a Swiss-based, let's say company for now, that provides state of the art, encrypted and private services. they have a password manager, email, calendar, cloud storage, and a VPN.

i will just be using proton for email and vpn (to an extent, calendars). because MEGA provides 20 gigabytes of end to end encrypted cloud storage, and bitwarden costs literally nothing, and if i do pay, it's less than a dollar. finally, a price that my wallet can handle.

but I will say, I love how proton mail handles encryption. it stores emails encrypted, and you can further encrypt them using PGP or a password. yes, PGP. and how it makes use of PGP feels seamless.

so that's ivysaur.m@proton.me. I couldn't take ivy@proton.me because someone took it, but for some reason, it says sirivysaur has been taken, along with all the other variations like sir.ivysaur or sir_ivysaur. even sir-ivy doesn't work. what are the odds of all variations of an extremely obscure username (I think it's safe to assume that I'm the only person on the Internet branded as sir ivysaur) being taken? so ivysaur.m. no, I couldn't take ivy.m.

i also deprecated my vivaldi.net address on my whoami page.

#lostinthesauce