🌱 ivy's garden

the nugget phone experience

nuggets.

at some point this year, my blackberry died. i have no idea as to why it did but it did. but thankfully, several months prior, i obtained this ancient phone from my grandmother. it is a redmi 1s and boy was it a nugget. it's nugget-shaped, with nugget-level power.

i originally used it as a test subject (and still is). i gained some knowledge of custom ROMs (it runs resurrection remix), rooting (supersu, not magisk) and better privacy, all because of the nugget.

so i pulled it out, inserted my SIM card, and braced for the nugget-filled adventure i was going to have.

the first days were, let me say unpleasant. it was slow, messages always had to fly around in the clouds before they landed in my nugget phone, and all the buttons always had to fly off (i dropped it on the ground this one time and bits of it were just scattered all over the place). but after using it, it was actually pretty okay. all i did with it was text, call, and listen to the radio (yes, radio).

it didn't have google, so i looked online on how to put google services on it, and thank goodness i gave up. i realised how foss can replace every google service i needed on my phone, so i stuck with it. it did everything i needed it to do.

you know what maybe i should use it instead of my new nugget phone from now on (though my ISP has actually cut 3G support so that's a no go now).

#lostinthesauce