🌱 ivy's garden

my terrible cheap notebook

Early this year, I was sent to go to the corner store to get some ice, because the fridge broke. I looked in there, and found a sad looking orange notebook, the size of an old BlackBerry Bold 9780. To get it out of there, I paid for it along with the ice. I came home, looked at the notebook, and shoved it into my wallet (which isn't really a wallet, more like a pouch, but tomato-tomato).

Several months later, I looked at the thing again. And I started to use it. Mostly to remember things, but it also acts as an alternative to my Notesnook notes, where I develop ideas.

A bit redundant, sure. But it really is helpful to have a physical book for times when opening my phone isn't really the best thing to do.

I wrote my post on the digital garden while I was on the flight from Jakarta. I'll write about that sometime later, but my laptop was jammed above me with some other bags, and I didn't want to risk blowing up the plane (the dude next to me didn't care and spent the whole flight watching Instagram Reels without flight mode on.), so I pulled out the notebook and started writing.

The notebook in question isn't anything special.

my digital gardens post the book, closed, with pen

It looks brand new, and ancient at the same time. At the back, it lists public phone numbers for Surabaya and Jakarta, which would have been convenient if we were still in the 90s. Is that how old this notebook is? Because I got it brand new, with the brand new paper texture. Though, no brand new paper smell.


hated this post? i did too, so you can read more of this junk by subscribing to my RSS feed, bookmarking my blog to check on it every once in a while, or better, subscribing to my newsletter which has a bunch of other cool stuff thrown in :D