🌱 ivy's garden

the jakarta experience

So mate, I'm back. Back on this nugget blog which I have seemed to have abandoned. Well not anymore, because, I'm back.

Currently in Cikini, Jakarta. Wanted to write a bit about how walking around in Jakarta felt like.

For the capital of Indonesia, there are somehow more pedestrians than there are cars here. I went out to hunt down some medicine, and the pedestrian path is just overrun by people walking here and there. And the air smells pretty clean, compared to the Bali stink I sniff every day with traffic everywhere (tourist spots do be like that).

Public transport seems to be extremely flexible, with more routes going across the city, various kinds of transport (you want the train? we got trains. you want the bus? we got buses. you want a van with a bunch of people crammed in there? we got those, it's called the Daihatsu Gran Max, a beast of a mule used in logistics, transport and anything you throw at it) to choose from, and it's all pretty affordable. I haven't taken any of these, but I'll write when I do.

Oh and I accidentally wiped my phone. Amazing.

[[ end post ]]


hated this post? i did too, so you can read more of this junk by subscribing to my RSS feed, bookmarking my blog to check on it every once in a while, or better, subscribing to my newsletter which has a bunch of other cool stuff thrown in :D

#lostinthesauce