🌱 ivy's garden

fiction is fun (and "fun" to write)

it's april. last post I wrote was on january.
soz mate!

some time ago, I had hit rock bottom. nothing to do, nothing to look forward to, and overall nothing.
so I decided to learn to write fiction! and read more of it (because I'd just realised I haven't read much fiction, not a single novel either).

so I went up to the nuggetbook and threw away my old fiction project. why? it's been sitting there for goodness knows how long and I don't even remember the plot. and I began plotting a new one.

Manuskript is a great program for writing projects. really. very helpful and doesn't cost one arm and leg like other proprietary alternatives I've seen.

with that, I had drafted a chapter for a fantasy thing I had lingering in my mind. and I scrapped it. because turns out, fiction is a pain to write. it's fun to write, but it's a pain to write fiction that sounds good enough. plotting is hard, the sentence-by-sentence writing is hard.

but oh well, time to write another story. i'm currently going with a short story instead, hopefully that turns out well :)
and as foolish as this may sound, I hope to be able to get it published on some literary magazine.
(problem is I'm writing it on paper with the worst fountain pen ink ever, who knows how long it'll last? :/)


*hated this post? i did too, so you can read more of this junk by subscribing to my RSS feed, bookmarking my blog to check on it every once in a while. want to tell me how much you hated it? hit me up through anywhere listed in the whoami page.

#lostinthesauce